Wilton-Lyndeborough Cooperative School District School Administrative Unit #63

192 Forest Road Lyndeborough, NH 03082 603-654-8088

Bryan K. Lane Superintendent of Schools Betty Moore, M.Ed. Director of Student Support Services Lise Tucker Business Administrator

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT January 10, 2017

On Wednesday, December 21, the WLCTA ratified the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the Union and the School Board. This will allow us to bring the ratified contract to the Budget Committee for their consideration this evening.

We have finalized the total budget that will be presented to the Budget Committee. The budget for both Wilton and Lyndeborough, exclusive of the bond coming due, will be a slight reduction for both towns.

Over the holiday break, there was some work done on the heating systems at WLC and LCS respectively. A "loop pump" was replaced at the high school. This is a two pump system, one of the pumps had failed. The heat was down in the building for a day but all is working well now. The loop pump is the same pump we use at FRES for their heating system. Prior to the holiday break, Lise Tucker, Buddy Erb and I agreed that having a back-up pump would be a prudent thing to do. We have sent the failed pump to be refurbished so we can have it on hand. At LCS, the system was bled out to ensure that it is working effectively.

Kevin Verratti, the District Technology Director, found that at the SAU there was a file backup system that was not functioning properly. He ran diagnostics on the hardware and is working primarily with the finance department to ensure that all documents and information that we are required to have is recovered. The system is being replaced.

In February, I am going to continue my tenure as a member of the Secondary School of Excellence Selection Committee. The committee is part of the EDDIE Awards that are handed out in June for schools and individuals who have shown outstanding performances in the field of education during the current school year. I have been a member of the committee since 2002.